Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Prayers, pinatas, & potting soil


It feels kind of strange to write about myself so much. A post about Josh will follow shortly, and him I could write about all day, although he'll probably write it. I've been doing research on what expectant moms want to know about adoptive families and the only constant is that they want to know as much as possible. Really, I literally typed "what do women considering  adoption want to know?" into Google. So here it goes:

I'm 28 years old, born in Texas but have lived in California for the majority of my life. I was raised by my mom and step-dad (which feels weird to write because he's "my dad", nothing step about him). I have a good relationship with my biological father who lives out of state. My mom and step dad had my brother who is nine years younger than me and he is currently serving in the Navy (just like our dad did, very proud). I have an AA in accounting and a Gemology Degree from GIA as well. I worked for a local jewelry store doing customer service and appraisals for about six years, briefly at a bank (attempting to use my accounting degree), and then became a homemaker after Josh and I decided to start a family. Since my goal is to home-school our future children (I've already started researching curriculums), we decided we should get use to a single income now. That was three years ago, we're use to it. Now I just need the child to teach! I know homeschooling might intimidate some people but I feel prepared and whatever I can't do, we'll get a tutor for. Our child will have the best education we can provide. I look forward to reading, going on field trips, and watching little knowledge "light bulbs" turn on. Whatever life goal our son or daughter sets, we will do our best to help them succeed. 

I grew up in church and can't remember a time in my life when God wasn't a part of it. Josh and I have attended the same church since high school and are also part of a small Bible study group every Sunday. I am also a group leader for an organization called Bible Study Fellowship that I attend weekly (on summer break right now).
Bible study in bed.
I started three years ago and became a leader last year. I love it! I have met so many wonderful people through this study. BSF offers children's Bible studies too and we will definitely be taking advantage of that in the future.


Josh and I live in, what I think, is a very cozy comfy house close to our church, families, and fun activities. We both enjoy being home. The kitchen is my favorite room. It's always bright and sunny and I love cooking and experimenting with new recipes (which can be a challenge sometimes cause Josh is a bit picky). I generally plan our meals ahead of time for the week on a menu board I have posted and then grocery shop accordingly.  
Love the light through my kitchen windows.

I love baking too. Making beautiful yummy things is very satisfying. Josh often requests my chocolate chip cookies or chocolate cake to bring to work events and potlucks. I enjoy baking for special occasions also. I've made birthday, wedding, and baby shower cakes and cupcakes for friends and family. I look forward to the time when I can teach our child to cook and bake. I can't wait to see a sweet little face and hands covered happily in flour and frosting after helping mom in the kitchen. 
A cake I made for my father-in-law's 50th birthday.
I love to host and help with parties. Contributing to a special event in my loved ones lives or celebrating a holiday with friends and family is pure joy. In the past Josh and I have hosted several dinner parties, Halloween parties, baby showers, and birthday parties. I love making decorations and planning activities. The events hosted in our home are my favorite. Helping friends with their events is a very close second though. I'm currently planning a wedding cake with a tangerine and turquoise color scheme (great colors!) for a very sweet couple. Could not be more excited for them! 
I've enjoyed helping my friends celebrate baby showers and their children's birthdays. I'm looking forward to planning my own adoption shower and then our future child's birthday parties. I have a Pinterest board already dedicated to it!
Pinata made for a friend's daughter's birthday.


Diaper cake made for a friend's baby shower.
  In addition to cooking and party planning, I love gardening. When we had our backyard redone after moving in I had a raised garden added to the side yard where I grow herbs and veggies. It got so hot earlier this summer that only my bell peppers, basil, and yellow squash survived but in the past I've also grown zucchini, green beans, broccoli, carrots, cucumbers, lettuce, rosemary, and strawberries.
Yum!
Grown in my garden!
 It will be fun to teach our child about gardening and watch them learn and appreciate food they've grown themselves. Josh and I try to incorporate as many organic fruits and vegetable into our diets as possible. I can't wait to make our own baby food with homegrown veggies. 

When It comes right down to it, my main interests are my faith and my family. Enjoying family and supporting them. Taking care of Josh, our home, and our puppies brings never-ending satisfaction to me. Being a wife, daughter, friend, and soon to be mom is the best job in the world in my opinion.


 Click here to see a slideshow of our family.

4 comments:

  1. Wow, Kristen, this is great! It's not easy to talk about yourself. Yet, I have a good picture of who you are from reading this. I think you accomplished your goal with this post.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I have enjoyed reading your blog. I love your kitchen,very cozy. You are so creative. I wished I could do things like that( cooking things and decor). This post as mom of the year written all over it.

    ReplyDelete

Leave us a comment and let us know what you thought of our post. Feel free to share it as well. Thanks!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...